ACTION ALERT: Call DuPage County, Support MECCA Mosque

February 2, 2011

County Development Committee recommends approval for MECCA permit;
Final vote next week.

UPDATE:

Although the DuPage County Development Committee (CDC) voted yesterday to recommend granting a permit to the Muslim Education and Cultural Center of America (MECCA), the issue is not over yet as the DuPage County Board still needs to vote on the matter. A decision will be made by the County Board next week. Last month the Zoning Board of Appeals (ZBA) recommended denying MECCA a permit.

SEE: Chicago Tribune: DuPage County Board committee backs plan for mosque

Last year the County Board rejected a permit for the Irshad Learning Center (ILC) of Naperville. Similarly to MECCA, the ILC had gotten a negative recommendation by the ZBA and a positive recommendation by the CDC. Ultimately the County Board sided with the ZBA and denied the permit. CAIR-Chicago has filed suit against the DuPage County Board and is challenging the denial.

ACTION:

Call the DuPage County Board and show your support for MECCA as well as the other mosques seeking permits: the Islamic Center of the Western Suburbs (ICSW) and the Irshad Learning Center (ILC).

Make your voice heard and make a difference!

Contact the following County Board Members and ask them to vote in favor of these Muslim community centers:

John Curran: (630) 541-7588 – john.curran@dupageco.org
Paul Fichtner: (630) 251-7883 – PFichtner@dupageco.org
James Healy: (630) 655-6000 – jhealy@dupageco.org
Robert L. Larsen: robert.larsen@dupageco.org
JR McBride: (630) 790-1040 – jmcbride@dupageco.org
Michael F. McMahon: (630) 261-9000
Debra Olson: (630) 221-9593 – dolson@dupageco.org
Patrick J. O’Shea: (630) 620-8551
Donald Puchalski: (630) 543 -2320 – dpuchalski@dupageco.org
Brien Sheahan: (630) 728-4641 – bsheahan@dupageco.org
James F. Zay, Jr.: (630) 876-8601 – jzay@dupageco.org
John Zediker: (630) 697-3062 – jzediker@dupagco.org


For more information, contact Communications Coordinator Amina Sharif at asharif@cair.com, 630-935-5562


Category: Action Alerts, Features | Tags: ,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,

l Print Print l RSS
All Rights Reserved. Copyright 2005-2013 © CAIR-Chicago   |   17 N. State Street, Suite 1500, Chicago, IL 60602    T: (312) 212-1520    F: (312) 212-1530    E: info@cairchicago.org